An Honour and More Germy News…

Every day, I find several Emails in my Inbox sent by people wanting to talk about germs and our relationship with them.  I’m always excited to see the diverse opinions and the occasional word of encouragement.

But today, I received an honour that left me smiling from ear to ear.  The team at ScienceBorealis have a feature called the Canadian Science Blog of the Day (#cdnsciblog for you Twitterholics).  Today, I saw this:

The tweet has now led to even more people checking out this site and I hope taking a few moments to look at the collection of articles and videos I’ve posted over the years.

To all of you browsing here for the first time, Welcome!

THE GERM CODE

41yeva0yhQL._SL500_

As many of you know, the book is just over a month away from being released and I have been happy to hear that pre-sales are going well (you save 28%). Over the coming weeks, I’ll be working with Random House Canada to arrange for appearances and media interviews.  As they come in, I’ll be sure to keep you in the loop.

GETTING POPULAR WITH SCIENCE

utmStarting October 1, I’ll be joining the team at Popular Science with a column called, “Under The Microscope”.  It’ll take a more scientific look at the world of germs and provide more detail on the unseen world.  The topics will be different than those at The Huffington Post but I am sure they will interest you and keep the spotlight on the fascinating microscopic world.  

When the official link comes up, I’ll make sure it’s posted here.

TAKE A BITE OUT OF GRIME

Over the summer, I had the wonderful opportunity to talk with a champion for hygiene in Australia, Keith Gregory.  He has started the Children’s Global Hygiene Foundation which will work to empower children to not only learn more about hygiene, but become engaged in making hygiene a priority.  He has both celebrity and political supporters in Australia and I am happy to support him in these efforts.  This work is so valuable and I encourage each of you to check him out.

Keith has also started what I feel will be a revolution in engaging children in hygiene.  It’s called GrimeStoppers and is a multimedia platform to increase awareness of hygiene and it’s need in health.  The Grimestoppers also have a champion although I won’t mention that person here.  Instead, head to the website and take a look for a familiar name on the right hand side of the page.  I’m sure it will also bring a smile to your face.

Over the coming year, I know the Grimestoppers will grow into a movement and with continued support from organizations worldwide become a place for all children to not only learn, but also join in and become Grimestoppers themselves.

A CONTINUED THANKS

As you can see, it’s been a very fruitful summer and I look forward to what is to come in the fall and 2014.  But I need to stress that without all of you who continue to support and encourage me, I would never be where I am today.  So, as always, while I continue to succeed as a Germevangelist and now Germs Relationship Therapist, I am always grateful and humble for everything you have done for me.

Cheers and as always, feel free to leave me a comment below.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to An Honour and More Germy News…

  1. Julia Serradilla says:

    I love the cover of the book!
    Keep us posted with your Popular Science colaborations.

  2. Peter.tetro@sympatico.ca says:

    “Congratulations Jason” !!!
    May You continue to ‘Light Up Our ‘Comprehension’ of Your Germy-World’ *******
    And May You continue to be “Surprised” by “Unexpected-Gestures”
    in Your Corner of Your Germy-World ***

  3. Mike Kelly says:

    Congratulations on the book also Jason – no small feat (as I work on my own book and know the challenges). I enjoy watching your segments on CTV and if I might ask a question – is there any validity in saying that as hygiene can combat “germs”, it can also lead to more powerful germs that have survived the hygiene process and adapted to our attempts to eradicate them?

    Thanks
    Mike Kelly.

    • Hi Mike. Sorry for the delay in the reply…

      Hygiene can most definitely combat germs of all shapes and sizes. The components of hygiene – disinfection, antisepsis (and for some, increasing diversity – open the windows!) will all work to kill and/or prevent potential pathogens from infecting us.

      As I work to create a better relationship with germs, I would suggest that a better explanation might be that hygiene combats harmful germs. It’s a little more specific but shows that there is a difference between the good/neutral germs (99.9995%) and the ones that can hurt us (0.0005%).

      Hope this helps!

  4. Hi Jas !
    Dec.6th 2002 – emergency – remember that ???
    so……
    “…… is there any validity in saying that as hygiene can combat “germs”, it can also lead to more powerful germs that have survived the hygiene process and adapted to our attempts to eradicate them? ”

    HERE I’m thinking : “Super-Bug” >>> “Super-Antibiotic”

    Germs or Bacteria or Virus OR ???

Leave a Reply

