A Tremendous Honour For The Germ Code

Hey everyone,

This is a short post and I promise I’ll get back to the series on #sciPOP soon.  Right now, I just wanted to share some news I received today.

The Canadian Science Writers’ Association is a national organization made up of professional science communicators who strive to bring science to the Canadian public. The CSWA was founded in 1971 and has since grown to be one of the leading institutions in the world.


cswaheaderleftpic3

Every year, the CSWA celebrates science communication in many ways, including a Book Award for outstanding general audience book published.  Last year, the winner was Fatal Flaws, written by Jay Ingram, who used to host Discovery Channel’s Daily Planet.

This year, along with five other fantastic tomes, The Germ Code has been placed on the short list for the 2013 award.  Wow.

While I had always hoped the book would relate to the general public, I never expected this level of accolade. I am truly honoured by the selection and the inclusion to this acclaimed list of authors who have put their heart, souls and expertise to paper.  I can attest that making the jump from short pieces, academic papers and other media to the incredibly difficult book format is laudable in and of itself.

Personally, this mention is not only exciting, but humbling.  Inasmuch as I might be the person up for the award, without all of you out there supporting me, I would only be a voice and an apparently well written book.  The sentiment may seem cliché but it is the truth: I succeed as long as you let me and I am and will be thankful for every moment.

As always I would love to know your thoughts.

P.S. You can read more about the award here: http://sciencewriters.ca/2014/04/01/cswa-book-awards-shortlist-2/

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Tremendous Honour For The Germ Code

  1. earthgroaning says:

    “Congratulations Jason” ***
    I am just overjoyed for YOU Jas —
    Thank You for your ‘Info’ on this Process *******

  2. Nicole Kenny says:

    Well deserved for sure! Congratulations!

Leave a Reply

