About a year and a half ago, I was honoured to be invited to join a meaningful non-profit organization known as Partners in Research.

Founded in 1988, the goal of PIR is to educate the public about the history, importance, accomplishments and promise of science, technology, engineering and math (STEM) research in all its aspects.  The main targets are elementary and secondary school students in the hope that they can related to the benefits of research and that they may eventually look towards research as a career path.

All in all, it’s a very worthwhile cause and they are doing fantastic work.

Since I joined, I’ve been colluding with the Executive Director, Kevin Cougler to find ways to use the strategies I’ve developed as the Germ Guy to reach out to students, teachers and researchers in new ways.  It’s a far cry from the work that I do in the lab but I have to admit that I love it.  Even better, I know that PIR can go even further and make learning about research not only interesting, but also fun.

One way that they are accomplishing this is to release an e-newsletter called…

The Partner

Last month, I was asked to send in an article talking about one of my latest scientific publications and demonstrate how I manage to translate it such that it’s easy for the public to understand.

It was a fun article to write and I would recommend it to anyone that would like to learn more about what I do as the Germ Guy and also how to take their own research work and make it fun for the public.

I should also say that I know the article is drier than others I write on this blog but let’s face it, what I present here is a product of a long process of distilling, analyzing, synthesizing, testing and eventually launching.  Each blog post is a product not unlike anything you see in the bookstores or newspaper shelves.  My goal is not only to inform but also make sure that the 4Es are all covered:  education, engagement, enrichment and, may favorite, entertainment.

The article in the Partner gives an idea of how that process works.

I hope you enjoy the article and if you give my actual research paper a read, thanks!

As always, I would love to hear your comments and questions.

