It was quite the week Two historic events happened over the last seven days. They were captured and shared by millions. However,  only one seemingly gained the attention they both deserved.

The first was one of the most important moments in our generation. It happened in New York and involved 193 countries all coming together to act on what might be the greatest threat in our time…

HLM Antimicrobial Resistance_Identifier

You may have heard about this meeting in the news. What you may not know is the result. It’s a political declaration of action to combat this rising threat to our health. You can read more about it here: http://www.un.org/pga/71/2016/09/21/press-release-hl-meeting-on-antimicrobial-resistance/

If you hadn’t heard about this meeting, I won’t hold it against you. Because the other incredible event stole away any momentum this might have seen. If you haven’t guessed it by now, it was the announcement that Brad Pitt and Angelina Jolie are…as my friend Sean Webb ingeniously coined…


jolie-pitt-cover-435x580Consciously Unmegacoupling

The news overshadowed any attempt to bring the plight of antibiotics into the spotlight. The Brangelexit, as it is now known, completely stole any chance the UN meeting had to increase awareness of the looming crisis. The declaration became little more than a small news story.

You might think I’m upset. I am. But I also know popular culture far outshines any scientific news, except perhaps…

plutodemotedPoor Pluto…

But as it’s the weekend, I didn’t want to go on some rant. Instead, I felt it best to find a positive from the announcement. As I searched my soul and my….

Plutonian Heart

I realized there was a link between the two events. In fact, I came to understand how the separation of these two mega-stars could actually provide perspective on antibiotic resistance. The feeling was so strong that I almost had to break into song. But, alas, that would not be good and so I decided instead on a different, poetic approach.

I present to you…

brangelinaThe End Of An Era May Save Another

 Woe has struck the land as Brangelina is no more;
The divorce papers have officially been put on file;
Now Hollywood is shaken to its innermost core;
The power couple’s love has turned to a rift most vile.

This tale of separation from a most valued friend;
Is happening in medicine and causing an ominous storm;
We are losing antibiotics upon which we so deeply depend;
Without action, living without them will soon be the norm.

Unlike Brad and Angie, there is hope for us still;
There are ways and means to prevent this great divide;
Now the UN has stepped in using its ceremonious quill;
Declaring the world is ready to act and abide.

We all have a role to play if we wish to avoid Brangelina’s fate;
Working in harmony we can beat antibiotic resistance before it’s too late.

