It’s insane how time flies when you are travelling. One moment it’s the middle of November and next thing you know, it’s almost Christmas…

heywhahappened(You said it…)

Over the last weeks, I have had the honour of attending several conferences. In the middle of November, I was at the Society for Neuroscience meeting in San Diego, which attracted over 30,000 people. It was mainly an advocacy trip although I did gain insight into the field. As a microbiology & immunology scientist, my overall impression could be best described as…

fascinating_o_509159(Especially the microbe-gut-brain axis bubble)

From there, I shuffled off to Helsinki, a mere 10 time zones away. Even though I took care of my microbes, there was no way I could prevent the inevitable…

jet-lag(Jet Lag!)

Thankfully, I had a few days to recover before participating in one of the largest conferences in Europe. It’s known as SLUSH and attracts over 17,500 people. It’s also one of the most unique conferences I’ve ever attended. But don’t take my word for it…

slush-header-2(Welcome To SLUSH!)

I had been asked to give a presentation at this incredible conference on the art of science communication. But there were conditions…

  1. It had to be engaging to a wide variety of audiences;
  2. It had to be thought-provoking messages;
  3. It had to have a link back to the conference itself and…
  4. It could only be 16 minutes.

It took several weeks to hone it in collaboration with some of the organizers but eventually, it took shape. I would describe it to you but it’s probably better if you see it for yourself…

(Lab Rats of Disruption!)

As soon as I was off stage, I was sent into a whirlwind of travel as I had to get back to Toronto – via Iceland…HOOH! – and then head up to Ottawa for the next conference, the Society of Toxicology of Canada. I also needed a change of clothes…

stc2016(Why So Serious?)

To be honest, it was anything but serious. The STC team were amazing and we had many a laugh. I even had a chance to present an actual research-focused presentation. It was the first time in years and I have to say, I was more nervous than I was at SLUSH.

Eventually, I made it home although there was no time for…

sleep(Is this TOO cute?)

I had a long list of Emails and other requests in my Inbox. People from all over the world were reaching out to discuss more about the art of science communication and how to share research with the public, policy-makers, and investors. I’ve since set up enough meetings, conferences, and presentations to last until the middle of next year. Let’s just say I’m going to be…

beaver(A Busy Beaver…)

Which brings me to the title of this article. Some of the requests involve practicing science communication with me. People want to be able to find their voice as well as the right format to make science more interesting. While I am happy to help out, I find that giving a bit of a push will increase the chances at success.

In that light, I’ll offer the chance to be a guest contributor on my blog…

maxresdefault(I know…Jackpot, right!)

Okay, maybe it’s not winning a lottery and there is no money involved – I do all of this for free – but it is a chance to work with me and have your article posted on a site where people are truly interested in learning more about science, research, and health. Also, I don’t attract trolls or other unsavoury sorts. Instead, I do my best to ensure a place for honest discussion and of course, a little bit of fun.

As we head into 2017, which I believe will be one of the most critical years for science communication in decades, I hope some of you out there will want to try giving this strange but rewarding occupation a try. I know it’s not for everyone but for anyone who has that inkling, I would love to help you find a voice as unique as your…

fingerprint(You get the idea…)

If you’re interested in posting a piece on this blog, feel free to comment below or, if you wish, send an Email to…

thegermguy@gmail.com

