Search

The Germ Guy: Confessions of a Mercurial Microbiologist

Putting the Poo in Swimming Pools…

Over the last few years, as summer approaches, I tend to receive requests to talk about a phenomenon that might make even the nastiest person go…

(Sorry, Dr. Evil…)

I’m talking, of course, about fecal matter in swimming pools.

I’m sure you may have heard about this occurrence in the news. You may have ignored the story thinking it is another attempt to keep us in the matrix of germophobia. But in this case, the threat is real. Or, to put it another way…

(Thanks, Morpheus)

Feces in pools happens and based on some pretty convincing evidence, it’s more common than you might think. If you don’t believe me, may I suggest you read this wonderful article on the likelihood of finding fecal bacteria and viruses in your local swimming environment.

Assessment of Enteric Pathogen Shedding by Bathers during
Recreational Activity and its Impact on Water Quality

4 thoughts on “Putting the Poo in Swimming Pools…

Add yours

  1. Peter.tetro&sympatico.ca

    June 16, 2017 at 10:00 am

    Dear Lord Jason !!! All those ‘trips’ to the Hospitals ??? ooooooooooo
    Ear Infections/sore throats>>>strep>>> I don’t think it is “BLISS” to be Ignorant of this state of affairs !!!!!!!

    • Having looked back at my own experiences, I can see how the water may have contributed to all those problems. I had no idea at the time mind you. But now I always have that shower after going in any water, whether pools, lakes, or the ocean.

  2. Would you consider not using so many photos in your articles. I find then annoying/distracting and put my hand over them so I can focus on your wise words. Really you don’t need them – your articles are enjoyable on their own.

    • Hi Anita,

      Thank you for your comment and suggestion.

      My hope is to align the science with popular culture using imagery that people recognize. Many people tend to like this however, as you have mentioned here, sometimes it can be a little too much. I will take your words to heart and be more cautious about the use of images in the posts moving forward. I’ll try to ensure the words are not lost in translation.

      Have a lovely day…
      Jason

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

